Offshore Support

April 4, 2009

We were discussing FH’s current move to offshore their support responsibilities.

Now, over the last few years, we’ve had so many conversations with the existing UK team where we’ve been patronised, ignored, abused, treated like we are scum etc., that to be honest:

WE DONT THINK IT CAN BE ANY WORSE

However, we’re interested in what you think…

What DO you think about the prospect of Fasthosts support being hosted offshore?

8 Responses to “Offshore Support”

  1. Neil Says:

    I agree – they suck and have virtually non-existant customer service. 3 weeks to answer my emails! utterly useless. I have more chance of falling pregnant than getting them to solve my problems.

    Neil

  2. Richard Says:

    Abismal. They have had pop3 email problems preventing any standard hosting customers collecting emails for over 24 hours. Technical support have given up answering the phone.

    AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

  3. Bob Says:

    Can confirm your worst fears. The move offshore to the Phillippines has done nothing whatsoever to help with my problem: within a week of getting my site up and running it’s now been offline for over a week – seems like the usual story – had the money – don’t really want to discuss the Service (or total absence of it, I should say. May be the chap I spoke to in Manilla had bigger things on his mind – what with the floods and everything – but that’s not really the point – they have to refer the technical stuff back to the UK or they can’t guarantee to ignore it!


  4. My experience with other companies offshore support has been vastly superior to Fasthosts currently. I think this is a good move, ok they will still be clueless, script-reading monkeys on the other end of the phone but at least they might be polite to people and answer in a timely manner!

  5. Ian Says:

    One more reseller looking to move away from Fasthosts, I plan to document the process from websites, databases, FTP services & domain names. So others can know how much work it will take.

    Ian

  6. Susie Green Says:

    They have stolen my money and now worried me by sayig all my info will be lost if I have not backed it up by 24th February. I have been with new host since July 2009 because of their abysmal services. This is making me ill. Had enough stress this and last year cannot take any more they are shysters!

  7. Alex Says:

    I wish I would read this blog earlier!
    It is a rubbish service! Treated me like a scummer from the very begining. During the sale I didn’t put my phone number corretly. Someone called Ashif treated me like an outlaw because of this. I thought it may be a mistake. But now when I have a technical problem, I am waiting for a couple a days for any response. And they say that I am breaking the law and ignoring my questions.

    Having worked with around 10 hosting companies in the past, this is the worst hosting I’ve ever had.

  8. Mark Says:

    FastHosts are terrible.

    Have been with them for 10 years, and only because we have over a 100 client sites on our server.

    We are trapped… do not make the same mistake.

    Even if they become free their performance, weak server memory and quick, but useless support, will cost you more than you can imagine!


Leave a Reply

